No-Rain November

Posted: November 18, 2014 in Africa, daily life
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Bonjour mes amis!

It’s halfway through November already, and I already miss the rain. The red laterite dust that blankets the ground here in Mali really does blanket everything. And with the end of the rainy season it only gets dustier. The brownish red paints everything with at least a single layer of tint. Buildings, streets signs, sidewalks, plants, everything has a slight tint of this deep, almost bloody red.

They tell me the rain won’t come again until next year. Bamako is barely in the Northern hemisphere so it is generally starting to get a little cooler now. This helps one to forget it’s effectively stopped raining until next August. However if I am to understand correctly, once April hits, it will be the real hot season and I’ll want to kill myself. Happy Birthday to me. In the end I’m confident these “seasons” will have little to no effect on my wardrobe. Either way, sleeveless all day. The only thing that could change is I might just eliminate shirts from my wardrobe entirely.

I’m actually kind of glad I have no current plans to visit the States for the holidays. Not because I wouldn’t love to see all my friends and family back home, but I hear the U.S. is starting to be pretty tough on people entering the country from Mali, and I would prefer not to have someone follow me around for 20 days taking my temperature. No, I’ll happily stay in my corner of the Sahara and catch up on my reading.

Last week Edmond took a five-day trip back to Togo to pick up his family and bring them back up to Bamako to live here with him. Thankfully his trip through the Ebola hot zone was a grand success! This has been his plan ever since moving to Bamako, so I’m ecstatic that he found a way to actually make that happen. He grew up working in the fields in Togo with a drunkard for a father, paying his own way through grade school and learning the culinary trade. Now he and his family have an apartment in Bamako. His kids get the chance to grow up in a major international city because he has worked his ass off his whole life. That’s what it’s all about in my book. Hoo-rah!

French is slowly becoming less of a mystery. I can understand a good amount of what I hear. Now the challenge comes to being able to speak it back to the world. I’ve got faith. Today in class I learned a phrase I doubt I’ll forget. La haine est la fille de l’amour. Hate is the daughter of love. That’s some gnarly stuff right there.

Well, that’s all I’ve got from my end for now. Just to throw some news in here, shout out to Anonymous for hacking the KKK’s twitter account and posting St. Louis members’ identities online after their chapter threatened protestors there with “lethal force.” Now that’s what I call hacktivism. If you’re interested, look up #OpKKK. Good stuff.

Have a good one Internet. Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do.

Onward and upward,
Z

Comments
  1. Mom says:

    Don’t go shirtless. Living in the southern Sahel teaches you respect for the sun. Protect yourself from it. Wear a hat and use sunblock. Melanoma doesn’t discriminate! Love, Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

