I Covered the Early Days of AIDS and I’m Sad To Say Racist Media Hysteria Hasn’t Changed Much

Posted: October 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

good points

TIME

xojane

This story originally appeared on xoJane.com.

Wanna know how to clear out a room in five minutes these days?

Stand in the middle of that room, making sure that you get as close to as many people as possible, and yell the following:

I HAVE EBOLA!

If you want the room cleared in less than five, cough. Or pour some water over your head to simulate sweat before entering. You may cause a stampede, but you’ll get your empty room.

Now I admit that the scenario I’ve just proposed is really irresponsible, kind of mean, a little bit childish and plays on the paranoia that naturally occurs in these situations.

But so is running stories insinuating that you can get Ebola from weave hair. I saw that on CNN. Wish I were kidding.

Look, I’ll be honest. I have a lot of respect for Ebola for the same reason…

View original post 650 more words

Leave a Reply

